Your Biggest Challenge?

The other day, Janet Wallace, the organizer of our local kidlit group asked me a question on Facebook, “What is your biggest challenge as a writer.” After I stopped giggling to myself I realized the answer required a blog post.

My short answer: Me. I am my biggest challenge as a writer.

The long answer: I’ve had to learn to get out of my own way, to stop hiding behind fears and excuses and just write. I’ve learned there is a time and a place for my inner critic. I’ve had to give myself permission to write and be bad at it. Most of all, I’ve learned I need to make time to write. I’m the only thing standing in the way of getting my novel written. If I want to be a writer, I have to make time to write. If I want to be a better writer, I have to learn the craft and surround myself with supportive people who will give me honest feedback and encouragement.

So, in turn, I ask you. What is your biggest challenge as a writer?

Posted on June 1, 2011, in On writing ... and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

