You May Say I’m A Dreamer

20120716-232415.jpg

I’m a dreamer. I always have been. I don’t remember anyone sitting me down as a child and telling me I could be anything I wanted in life, but I definitely got that message.

When I was eight I wanted to be a singer. I would belt out songs on my pink tape recorder with my friends until one day someone (and I don’t even remember who) told me I couldn’t sing. I believed them and I let my dream die.

When I was sixteen I wanted to work in the music industry. More specifically, my dream was to work for my favorite singer, Reba. I sure took a lot of criticism for that. I even had a teacher who made fun of me in an awards ceremony just before I graduated. He said I couldn’t do it. I proved him wrong. Six months later, I was living my dream.

When I turned twenty nine, my dream was to write a book before I turned thirty. Guess what? It didn’t happen. No one said I could or couldn’t do it. Nothing was pushing me to get it done other than a ticking clock. I didn’t have a plan. My birthday rolled around again and I realized the book wasn’t going to write itself.

I had to have a plan. I wrote my first novel during NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). It was a grueling process and it almost drove me crazy, but I made it through and wrote my 50,000 words. Sure, I cut 20,000 words out on December 1st, but the learning experience was invaluable.

I learned what did and didn’t work for me as a writer. I found it amazing what I could get done in small chunks of time throughout the day. Most of all, I gave myself permission to write and to write poorly. I turned my dream of writing a novel in to reality.

I think it’s important to be a dreamer. I think it’s even more important to work towards fulfilling that dream. I love the saying Goals are Dreams with Deadlines.

I’m not done dreaming. Are you? What do you dream of? What are you going to do to get there?

Posted on October 3, 2012, in Ideas, On writing ... and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

